Consequences of a Hit-and-Run Truck Accident in Texas
If you hit another vehicle, person or property and then speed off without exchanging information or rendering aid, then you have committed a hit-and-run. While some people intentionally flee the scene after being involved in a truck accident, other drivers are simply unaware they hit another person or their property. There are others that do not know they are committing a crime when they drive away from the scene of a truck accident.
If you have been charged with a hit-and-run after a truck accident, you will need to develop a defense to the crime. Contact a Bedford Truck Accident Lawyer to see what defenses are available in your case.
Texas Requirements After a Truck Accident
Texas law says when a truck driver is in an accident that results in property damage to the vehicle or injury or death to one of the vehicle’s occupants, the offender must stop the truck to immediately offer aid to the injured person. According to Texas Transportation Code § 550.023, the offender must also exchange certain information and produce a valid driver’s license.
If you are unsure of what is required after being involved in a truck accident, contact a Bedford Truck Accident Attorney to make sure you understand your obligations under Texas law.
Penalties for Hit-and-Run Truck Accident in Texas
If a driver does not stop after being involved in a truck accident that results in death or serious bodily injury, they can be charged with a third-degree felony. A driver who is found guilty of a hit-and-run in the third degree can be sentenced for a minimum of two years or a maximum of ten years in state prison and/or a $10,000 fine under Texas Penal Code § 12.34. If a driver does not stop their truck after an accident resulting in bodily injury, they can be sentenced to five years in state prison or one year in county jail and/or a $5,000 fine.
A person who does not stop after a truck accident resulting in property damage may be charged with a Class C misdemeanor if the property damage is less than $200. Class C misdemeanors are punishable with a fine of no more than $500. In cases where the property damage is more than $200, the driver can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which can result in $2,000 fine and/or 180 days in county jail.
For an accident involving property damage that occurs on a major freeway, the driver must pull over to a suitable location if it so safe to do so. If the people involved in the truck accident do not pull over, they can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Similarly, a truck driver who hits a parked car, but fails to find the owner of the vehicle or leave a note with their information, can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor if the damage to the car is under $200 or a Class B misdemeanor if the damage is over $200.
A truck driver who hits landscaping or a fixture on a highway can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor if the damage is under $200 or a Class B misdemeanor if the damage was more than $200.
Contact Bedford Truck Accident Lawyer
Contact a Bedford Truck Accident Attorney or Bedford Personal Injury Lawyer today for a consultation if you have been involved in a hit-and-run truck accident. Cain Firm, a Bedford Personal Injury Lawyer, is an experienced traffic lawyer who will make every effort to fight or reduce the charges brought against you.